Salad in a Jar…Who would’ve thought

DSC_0485

Game Time: Achieving Victory through Wholeness focuses on being healthy in the four major areas of life: physically, financially, emotionally, and spiritually. With the beginning of each New Year comes our pledge to eat better and to become more physically fit. In the book I share many high and low lights of my personal journey toward being physically healthy. I’ve been on the journey for quite some time and one thing that I’ve learned is that when you become serious about really being physically healthy; the journey literally becomes “for life.” You take the journey to improve the quality of your “life” and you decide that being physically healthy is not just a goal but a “lifestyle.”

It’s no longer about fitting into an old pair of jeans or a new dress but rather; it’s about making the decision to commit to a new lifestyle of good health.

In the book I also share some helpful health and fitness information that I’ve personally used, adopted or experienced. One of my newest discoveries is “salad in a jar.” The concept is that you make salads in advance in a sealed mason jar. The sealed jar helps to preserve your salad for at least up to 5 – 6 days. The longest that I’ve personally gone is five days. Preparing your salads in advance will not only save you time but money as well. Many of us lead very busy lives. I can definitely be the poster child for having a busy life. Preparing your salads in advance will eliminate your excuses to grab fast food or something unhealthy for lunch or meal. I literally grab my jar and go!

My jars are quart-sized found on www.orientaltrading.com. I purchased 12 for $17.99. Even dollar stores sell mason jars so, don’t make any excuses about you can’t find any. Be careful about the size of your jar. I bought the wide-mouth quart size jars because the pint size jars were simply too small to hold a decent-sized salad. I also like to dump my salad in a bowl before I eat it. It’s just a little prissier. However, if you buy the wide-mouth jars (you may need a longer fork) but; you could consume your salad straight from the jar. I absolutely love my salad in a jar. I typically prepare my salads on Sunday and prepare one for both me and my husband for at least the next 4 – 5 days.

The key to avoiding the lettuce from getting soggy is to place your salad dressing in the bottom of the jar and the lettuce at the very top. This way, the dressing and lettuce stay separate. As far as what types of salad…the sky is the limit. Add your favorite veggies, fruit, meat, etc. or try something new. You can google “salad in a jar” to get ideas on hundreds of different types of salads to make so; you will never get bored.

So, there you have it, salad in a jar! No more excuses for not having time to have a healthy lunch.

It’s Game Time!!

Let’s hear from you. Share some of your healthy-eating tips that we can use as we continue to journey toward being/maintaining good physical health.

One thought on “Salad in a Jar…Who would’ve thought

  1. Wow!!!!that looks so easy…..and also convenient…. I am going to eventually purchase me a set…and not to mention it looks delicious… Our temples are definitely a place where God is supposed to dwell…that is totally awesome that it preserves for 4-5 days because in a regular bowl….u can forget it lol soggy and wilt city..thx for the tip awesome!

    Like

Leave a Reply

